Saturday, 18 April 2015

A review of The Edge of Dark by Pamela Hartshorne

A review of The Edge of Dark by Pamela Hartshorne - Five **


Jane believes in keeping her promises, but a deathbed vow sets her on a twisting path of deceit and joy that takes her from the dark secrets of Holmwood House in York to the sign of the golden lily in London's Mincing Lane. Getting what you want, Jane discovers, comes at a price. For the child that she longed for, the child she promised to love and to keep safe, turns out to be a darker spirit than she could ever have imagined.

Over four centuries later, Roz Acclam remembers nothing of the fire that killed her family - or of the brother who set it. Trying on a beautiful Elizabethan necklace found in the newly restored Holmwood House triggers disturbing memories of the past at last - but the past Roz remembers is not her own . . .

A dark and twisted tale from Pamela Harshorne, author of The Memory of Midnight and Time's Echo, and a perfect read for fans of Barbara Erskine and Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series.


Pamela has written another winner. Her books are time slip stories set in York in the present day and in Elizabethan times. The Edge of Dark is a real mystery thriller, both in the present and the past. Roz is the lead in the present and Jane in Elizabethan England. 

Their stories run parallel to each other and are full of tension and fear. I held my breath at times! 

Pamela offers a fascinating insight into the life and times in the 16th century - the first time we meet Jane is one of the most upsetting scenes I've ever read and I have no doubt that it is accurate!

The book is also about families and rejection and the consequences. If you have a fear of fire then this might not be the book for you!

Amazon UK: The Edge of Dark
Amazon US: The Edge of Dark

1 comment:

  1. I really enjoy all Pamela Hartshorn's time-slippy books. The settings are always so well realised, and I love the depictions of York in the past...I want to walk through the streets with a copy of her book in my hand!