Monday, 20 April 2015

Review of Game of Scones by Samantha Tonge - Five**

Review of Game of Scones by Samantha Tonge - Five**

(Samantha has the honour of being the first UK author for whom I have reviewed 2 books!)


A story of icing and flour…and how love doesn’t always go to plan!
Growing up, Pippa Pattinson’s summers were spent in the idyllic Greek island fishing village of Taxos. There she spent many long hazy days determinedly ignoring thoughts of the life her parents had mapped out for her (a dreary-but-secure accounting job and obligatory sensible husband!) Instead she daydreamed of running her own tea shop – serving the perfect scones – with mocha-eyed childhood friend Niklaus by her side…

Arriving back in Taxos for the first time in years, with suave boyfriend Henrik, Pippa barely recognises the tired little town – but is relieved to catch glimpses of the quaint, charming village she’s always loved. Together Niklaus and Pippa put together a proposal to save Taxos from tourist-tastic ruin, and at the heart of their plan is Pippa’s dream project: The Tastiest Little Tea Shop in Taxos. It’s time for Pippa to leave her London life behind and dust off her scone recipe that’s guaranteed to win over both locals and visitors. And amidst the rolling pins and raisins, it seems romance is blossoming where she’s least expecting it…

Don't miss this sizzling new summer read from bestselling author Samantha Tonge, perfect for fans of Mistletoe MansionAlways the Bridesmaid and Summer at Shell Cottage


Oh wow! How I loved this book! Read it in two sittings and was so sad when it ended. It has everything - 2 leading men, a lovely heroine, beautiful setting, fabulous Greek families and a baddie! 
Halfway through the book, I could not see how the problems could possibly resolve themselves but Samantha put a couple of twists in the plot and hey presto! The tension builds slowly through the book and the end is such a relief! 

I would love to read a second book set in Taxos - with some recipes this time! Those scones sounded wonderful!

I received an ARC from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

Amazon UK: Game of Scones
Amazon US: Game of Scones

No comments:

Post a Comment